FOURTH ANNUAL NET RMA Linda Thomas Safe Driving Scholarship

In an effort to promote safe driving practices to Northeast Texas high school students and the community, for the fourth year, the NET RMA is providing the Linda Thomas Safe Driving Scholarship to award ten eligible students $1,000 each for college expenses, totaling $10,000. The winners are selected based on essays and academic and extracurricular achievements. The scholarship is open for applications from Wednesday, January 24, 2024 at 8 a.m. CT. to Sunday, March 31, 2024 at 11:59 p.m. CT..

View Past Scholarship Winners


  • Graduating high school seniors who have been accepted into a 2- or 4-year/university or accredited trade school and will be enrolled full-time by the Fall 2024.
  • Eligible students must also reside within NET RMA’s 14 counties: Bowie, Camp, Cass, Cherokee, Gregg, Harrison, Kaufman, Panola, Rusk, Smith, Titus, Upshur, Wood and Van Zandt.

Scholarship Application

Mailing Address (if different than above)

REQUIRED UPLOADS: Resume, Essay, & Transcript (All uploads should be in PDF format; Max. file size: 50 MB.)

Student’s First & Last Name
3-5 High School Awards/Honors/Activities
3-5 Community Activities/Involvement/Awards
Jobs held during high school
Name and email of school counselor
Accepted file types: pdf, Max. file size: 50 MB.
Suggested essay prompts:
  • Do you think driver’s ed is helpful and/or what do you think would help make these classes more meaningful?
  • Do the safety features in new cars really help or are they more distracting? Is there a safety feature you wish cars had instead?
  • Analyze the benefits and potential drawbacks that technologies, such as driver-assistance systems, hands-free capabilities and smartphone apps, can have on safe driving habits.
  • Write a personal safe driving pledge outlining your commitment to responsible driving habits. Explain how you will promote safe driving in your community.
  • Do you think 16 is the appropriate age for people to get a driver’s license? Or should the age requirement be changed?
  • Do you think drivers should be required to take refresher courses/tests throughout their lives? If so, why?
  • What are some innovative road designs or features that can improve driver safety?
Accepted file types: pdf, Max. file size: 50 MB.
If students have attended multiple high schools, a transcript from each school must be provided.
Drop files here or
Accepted file types: pdf, Max. file size: 50 MB.

    Eligible Expenses:

    Scholarship funds may be used for tuition, fees, books, room and board or for other items required by your college/university/trade school. If you are selected to receive a scholarship, you will be provided with instructions and a disbursement form to claim your scholarship.

    Selection Process:

    • Scholarship application opens on Wednesday, January 24 at 8 a.m. CT.
    • Scholarship application process closes on Sunday, March 31 at 11:59 p.m. CT.
    • Applications will be reviewed by NET RMA Scholarship Committee in early April 2024.
    • Winners will be announced by Friday, April 12, 2024.
    • Awards ceremony details will be determined by mid to late April 2024.