

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Jeff Austin, III 903-541-2093 Fax: 903-593-2518 www.netrma.org

TOLL 49 SEGMENT FUNDING BECOMES A REALITY

Tyler, Texas – November 18, 2010 – The Final Funding Piece of Toll 49 Is Approved

Today, the North East Texas Regional Mobility Authority (NET RMA) received notification that the Texas Transportation Commission gave final approval of up to \$90 million for construction of Segment 3B of Toll 49. This was a follow up action item from the prior approval that was given back in October by the Commission.

Addressing the Commission, Chairman Jeff Austin III of the NET RMA board thanked TXDOT for "working to find innovative solutions to funding transportation corridors." The Chairman said "this final approval affirms the hard work and partnership that the local communities have put forth toward the Toll 49 project".

Smith County Judge Joel Baker also addressed the Commission and stated that "the completion of segment 3B of Toll 49 will provide access to properties for economic development along the corridor and additional connectivity to I-20 for the region."

NET RMA board member Gary Halbrooks was in attendance at the commission meeting representing Tyler's mayor, Barbara Bass. Mr. Halbrooks read a letter from Mayor Bass which stated "the benefits of this approval will provide reduced congestion in and around Tyler and create both short and long term employment opportunities in the region."

Chairman Austin said he appreciated the support and teamwork shown by the NET RMA Board, the TxDOT Administration and Tyler District Engineer Randy Hopmann and his staff.

About the NET RMA

The NET RMA is an independent government agency created to accelerate the development of transportation projects in North East Texas. Our mission is to implement transportation solutions that will enhance the quality of life and the economic environment in our area. The NET RMA is governed by a 19-member board of directors that represent each of the member counties: Bowie,

Cass, Cherokee, Gregg, Harrison, Panola, Rusk, Smith, Titus, Upshur, Wood and Van Zandt. Texas RMAs were made possible through an initiative passed by State Legislature in 2001. The NET RMA was established in October 2004.

###