## GENERAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE NORTH EAST TEXAS REGIONAL MOBILITY AUTHORITY

## **RESOLUTION NO. 19-04**

WHEREAS, the North East Texas Regional Mobility Authority ("NET RMA") was created pursuant to the request of Gregg and Smith Counties and in accordance with provisions of the Transportation Code and the petition and approval process established in 43 Tex. Admin. Code § 26.1, et seq. (the "RMA Rules"); and

WHEREAS, the Board of Directors of the NET RMA has been constituted in accordance with the Transportation Code and the RMA Rules; and

WHEREAS, subsequent to the initial formation of the NET RMA the Counties of Cherokee, Rusk, Harrison, Upshur, Bowie, Panola, Wood, Van Zandt, Titus, and Kaufman joined the Authority and are represented on the Board of Directors; and

WHEREAS, in Resolution No. 13-02, dated January 22, 2013, the NET RMA Board of Directors adopted Tolling and Road Use Policies for the NET RMA (the "Tolling Policies"); and

WHEREAS, Subchapter C, Chapter 372 of the Texas Transportation Code provides toll project entities with certain additional enforcement remedies against individuals who repeatedly refuse to pay toll charges ("habitual violators"); and

WHEREAS, in Resolution No. 16-46, dated May 10, 2016, the NET RMA Board of Directors amended the Tolling Policies to provide for a process for pursuing available enforcement remedies against individuals determined to be habitual violators, which includes the implementation of the authority provided under Section 372.111 of the Transportation Code to report the habitual violator determination to a county assessor-collector in order to cause the denial of vehicle registration or renewal until the habitual violator has satisfied their outstanding obligations; and

WHEREAS, in order to implement the ability to request the denial of a habitual violator's vehicle registration or renewal, the NET RMA must enter into an Interlocal Agreement with county assessor-collectors to honor such request.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Directors of the NET RMA hereby authorizes the NET RMA Executive Director to negotiate, finalize, and execute Interlocal Agreements with county assessor-collectors for the refusal of a habitual violator's vehicle registration or renewal, in the form or substantially the same form attached hereto as <u>Attachment</u> "A"; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the NET RMA Executive Director is authorized to take additional actions as may be necessary to implement the Interlocal Agreements with the county assessor-collectors.

Adopted by the Board of Directors of the North East Texas Regional Mobility Authority on the 12th day of February, 2019.

Submitted and reviewed by:

C. Brian Cassidy

General Counsel for the North East Texas Regional Mobility Authority Approved:

Linda Ryan Thomas

Chair, Board of Directors

Date Passed: 02/12/19 Resolution No. 19-03